Mix Tape Literary Journal

A Literary Journal for Popular Culture

Record Store Day 2013: A Little Something for Everyone

record-store-day-2013

Whether you are a die-hard connoisseur of music, with an impressive record collection, or a part time music lover who just bought your first turntable at a flea market, Record Store Day has something for you.

Record Store Day was started in 2007. It falls on the third Saturday in April. RSD is celebrated around the world. The purpose is to not only bring together a community of music lovers, but to also appreciate and support independent record stores in an age when they are up against virtual record stores.

There are just certain places that provide a space for congregation and sanctuary for members of a community. And like black barber shops, beauty salons, bookstores, and church itself, a record store is a special place for the music lover. And it is on Record Store Day that this love is celebrated. 381990_651317014884900_46586507_n

As early as 6 am on Record Store Day, the lines were forming outside of some of the local record stores. Since for most record stores this is their biggest sales day of the year, special RSD limited edition album releases were heavily promoted in the weeks leading up to the event. This year’s Record Store Day “Ambassador” was Jack White and the list of RSD only album releases and collector’s items was quite extensive.

“We need to re-educate ourselves about human interaction and the difference between downloading a track on a computer and talking to other people in person and getting turned onto music that you can hold in your hands and share with others.  The size, shape, smell, texture and sound of a vinyl record; how do you explain to that teenager who doesn’t know that it’s a more beautiful musical experience than a mouse click?  You get up off your ass, you grab them by the arm and you take them there.  You put the record in their hands.  You make them drop the needle on the platter.  Then they’ll know.” -Jack White

For the RSD goers who weren’t willing to get up early and wait in lines, and had no particular collector’s edition album in mind, the stores were also offering special prices along with free food. When the afternoon and evening hours rolled around, many of the stores had local bands playing.

This RSD I decided to hit up the four independent record stores that are within walking distance of each other in my neighborhood  of San Diego’s Uptown District: M-Theory, Taang! Thirsty Moon Records, and Record City.

Although I have a large record collection and I browse these record stores from time to time, I have never gone to all four, back to back in a single day. What struck me as interesting was the difference in atmosphere, clientele, and overall vibe at each store.

For RSD, I decided that at each record store I would buy one album. And that album would depict that store’s individual role or niche in the community of record stores. (Also, with the intention of writing this article, I also chose albums that contain exceptionally poetic lyrics.)

My first stop was my favorite record store, M-Theory Music in Mission Hills. Walking into the record store, it was bright and lively w600414_10151330241082318_1763116841_nith people moving swiftly through the narrow aisles. There was music playing over the speakers and the excitement in the air was crisp. I chose the album, The Suburbs by Arcade Fire. I saw this album as the perfect “mascot” for M-Theory because this record store is Indie rocker haven. All the cool indie rockers shop here and if its indie rock you’re looking for, this is the place. This album is not only wonderfully orchestrated, but the lyrics tell a story of a society changing as we move from a more simple time into a fast paced digital world. Quite apropos for RSD, it only makes sense to own this album on vinyl.

My next stop was Taang! Records in Hillcrest. It was a different atmosphere completely. Whereas M-Theory was well-lit with sunlight coming in through the windows, Taang felt more like a garage or basement. I found this fitting since Taang is my go to record store for alternative and punk rock. This store was a little more subdued, dimly lit, and there were only a few people browsing, each seemingly in his or her own little world. The record that I chose as my Taang Records mascot was a special collector’s import of Check Your Head by The Beastie Boys. This is another album with lyrical content that is poetic, this time giving artistic insight into the experience of Generation X.

398538_10150628215791030_1325501352_nMy next stop was Thirsty Moon Records. I stop at this record store quite often. When I do I am usually the only person in this tiny little shop. When I approached this store on RSD, there were people hanging out outside on the sidewalk. They were sitting in beach chairs, talking, laughing, and enjoying food and drinks. The little store was full of people all in deep contemplation over their RSD album choices. My mascot album for this shop was From The Lion’s Mouth by a somewhat unknown band, The Sound. The lyrics in this album are so poetic that even if the rhythms and melodies were absent and the words were just being read on paper, they would still be just as hauntingly beautiful. Thirsty Moon is the only record store that I’ve been to that even carries The Sound. This is the record to go to for all Post Punk rarities.

Last stop for RSD- Record City in Hillcrest. Record City is what I think of as basically your good ol’ neighborhood record store. This is the store where you will find many of the standards and classics that are essential to any collection. The store is not intentionally ornate, but the different posters sprawled all over the walls, from different times and eras, definitely tell a story.

When I first entered, the store was packed full, but was silent. The line to pay wound all through the aisles and ended at the back of the store. One of the owners was sitting on a stool by the door and said to me as I walked in, “C’mon in! Our credit card machine is down…but we have pizza!” He then gave a small chuckle. I began to browse. My mascot album for this store had to be a classic. I decided upon Mixed Bag by Richie Havens. I am convinced that these lyrics started as poems and later evolved into songs.

A few minutes later I heard an exuberant shout, “It’s back up!” And with that, everyone in the store began clapping and cheering. Music came on over the speakers. It was a pretty thrilling moment- everyone together and celebrating. This is the kind of connection that would probably not be as meaningful on any other day other than Record Store Day, and could never be possible on iTunes or Spotify. This is the magic of Record Store Day.

“I love Record Store Day not for its exclusive goodies, but the spirit of the occasion: Record stores are communities that deserve to be celebrated. You might spend more of your money on coffee or clothes, but how often does an hour spent in an establishment that peddles such wares lead to revelation? How often does it lead to soul-level human connection? I tell you, I saw that shit every day, 10 times a day, when I was working at a record store; so too was I the beneficiary of such riches more times than I can count.” -Michael Nelson (journalist and record store enthusiast)

Joylyn Young

Leave a comment